At the moment, I feel brilliant – still buzzing from running a distance I never thought possible, so this may be more like a diary to ensure I don’t forget it 🙂 x

I was quite ill last week – and I don’t ‘do’ being ill. I had to have a few days off work and was unable to do a couple of short runs I had planned, which I was worried would affect my training with just five weeks to go.

I also had a pre planned check up with the doctor to ensure I am medically fit enough to run a marathon (which I am apparently) and also a physio appointment where I got a great massage and learned my legs muscles are, not surprisingly, very tight from all of the running.

So with the positive and negatives of this week combined, I wasn’t too sure what to expect from my planned 23 mile run today. I started carb loading on Thursday – I have eaten more pasta than I thought possible (but still don’t think it was actually enough!) and stocked up on energy gels, sweets, a new running bag, a new sports bra, and charged up my ipod and phone to ensure this one run was properly timed for once.

I met up with my running group this morning – led by Stuart Mosely as usual, a guy who is encouraging many of us marathon virgins in our training, while aiming for a PB in his latest 26.2 mile challenge. We all gathered on Northside – some people had run from the west coast to meet us, others were doing the same as me and running the whole way around the island, a couple were doing a ‘quick ten miler’! We all had our own personal targets and off we went. Six of us stuck together all the way to the top of the Val de Terres. And yes, I ran up that bl00dy hill! Well, almost – the last corner defeated me – but still – I ran up the bl00dy Val de Terres. Never ever again mind you!

The benefit of running with some seasoned long distance runners is that they had arranged some water stops along the way and we needed it as it became quite warm quite quickly.

Heading from the airport way down to the Imperial we had a good pace going, perhaps a bit slower than we would have liked but we were all chatting as we settled into the longest run yet. I think talking helped me keep my breathing steady today so I may have to talk to some unsuspecting runners on race day!

The west coast was hot today – a few breezy bits, but the sun was shining and the beaches looked fab. Loads of cyclists were around – in particular the Sarah Groves Foundation riders went past looking great in their matching shirts, and definitely giving a reason to pause for thought. Earlier, my uncle Paul and cousin Stephanie had gone past too – giving me the first cheer of the day to spur me on. It all definitely helps!

By the time I hit 16 miles (around Port Soif if memory serves) I was aching and feeling heavy footed and stiff but I kept going and the miles kept falling away, albeit increasingly slowly.

At 19.6 miles I stopped to walk for a bit – I walked for about 30 seconds before realising I was still hurting so may as well keep running! Luckily soon after that my Aunty Anne came past and got me a bottle of water, giving me a boost for the last two miles. The last mile was definitely the longest though – my god Bordeaux to northside chippy is a long way sometimes!!! When I got to my intended end point my phone app was only saying 22.79 miles though so I kept going anyway! Mentally I had to hit bang on 23 so I ran to the other side of the Bridge and stopped by the London House pub. Even better was seeing Stuart there – he had been looking out for me towards the end and met me with a bottle of water.

Running with a group has been a big help so far – even if I tend to drop back and run by myself at my own pace when the distance gets quite lengthy. It is good to see other people developing and sharing hints and tips. My next few runs may be alone though as I won’t be running such a long distance again. I may do a 20 mile run or possibly just 18, and then it will be time to taper down for the big day five weeks today. It is coming round quickly – but I think I have time to work on my fitness too. I did the 23 miles today in 4 hours and 22 minutes – which is faster than I thought I would. I would like to do the full marathon in 5 hours, so I was aiming for 5 today hoping I can improve on that time on the 13th April.

For the first time I finished my long run this week feeling really confident that I will complete the London Marathon – and hoping I will actually run the whole 26.2 miles too. It will all come down to conditions on the day but I think I can do this now 🙂 xxx